Day 62 – HJH Is a Blue Ribbon School


Congratulations to the Hamilton Southeastern Junior High school community on being named as a National Blue Ribbon School for 2014! Today, in Washington, D.C., Principal Tim Mankin and English Department Chair Jeff Libey took part in ceremonies to honor this year’s Blue Ribbon winners.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program, an important initiative of the federal Department of Education, has a thirty-two year history of highlighting excellent schools across the United States. Earning Blue Ribbon status is a great honor, and HJH is the only junior high school in the state of Indiana to be named a National Blue Ribbon School this year. To learn more about Hamilton Southeastern Junior High’s Blue Ribbon Status, please visit their award page on the National Blue Ribbon Schools website.

Day 28 – The AP Capstone Diploma


Both Fishers and Hamilton Southeastern High Schools now offer a new program called the AP Capstone Diploma.  To receive the AP Capstone Diploma, students must participate in the AP Seminar and the AP Research courses and earn a 3 or higher on both exams as well as earning at least a 3 on four additional AP exams of their choosing.

As it says on the College Board website, the AP Capstone project “offers students a unique opportunity to distinguish themselves to colleges and universities.”  The courses give students rigorous experiences that develop collegiate level research skills as well as abilities in developing and communicating logical argument.  Aspects of the courses include completing team projects, documenting findings, authoring a thesis paper and presenting an oral defense.

One of the most interesting features of the course is that students are able to select from a range of pursuits based on their particular college and career interest.  The research component requires the student to work with a mentor who is an expert in the field of interest.  HSE Schools are among only 144 in the country with a 2014 cohort in this program.

-Submitted by Dr. Dawn McGrath, Director of Secondary Curriculum